Skip to content

The Story So Far…

Rathpeacon G.A.A. was founded in 1943 and competed for several years in the city division before going out of existence. The club was revived in 1960 and again played in the city division. Initially, the club competed in Minor and Junior levels but regraded to Junior B Championships in 1961. Football was the stronger code and after winning the the City Junior B Football Championship in 1962, the club was promoted to the A grade. Rathpeacon contested the 1964 City Junior A football final only to be beaten by Na Piarsaigh by a single point. The footballers redeemed themselves a year later by beating Mayfield in the McSweeney cup final, winning their first Junior A title.

Many of the players played with the Seandún divisonal teams, most notably John Murphy, Jim Twomey, Pat Joe Sheehan, Pascal Goggin, Denis Murphy, Liam McAuliffe, and John Joe Kearney. Liam McAuliffe played with the Cork Minor hurling team in 1966 which lost the All-Ireland to Wexford after a replay.

The lack of youth coming through the ranks and the small population finally forced the club to fold once again in 1973. The club was re-founded in 1984 and after struggling intially, success came in winning the 1990 Seandún cup. The hurlers reached the County Hurling final in 1990, unfortunately losing to Harbour Rovers. The club won its first and only County championship in 1991. Our footballers beat Awbeg Rovers on a scoreline of 0-10 to 1-6.

The club has contested two football county championship finals and two hurling county championship finals since the turn of the Millenium. We have won three City football championships and two City hurling championships over the last twenty years and continue to do well each year in a tough city division and even tougher county division.

Rathpeacon LGFA was founded in 2022 and the story is only just beginning…

Roll of Honour:

County Junior B football championship winners: 1991.
County Junior B football championship runners-up: 2003, 2004.

County Junior B hurling championship runners-up: 1990, 2010, 2012.

McSweeney Junior A cup winners: 1965.

City Junior B football championship winners: 1961, 1962, 2004, 2013.

City Junior B hurling championship winners: 1961, 1990, 2002, 2012.

City Junior C football championship winners: 2009, 2019.

%d bloggers like this: